Extreme Dining

Extreme dining

As an enthusiast of cuisines around the world, I am always searching for something new to try. My project currently is to try and taste as many extreme types of meat as possible. So far I have tasted ostrich, kangaroo, and crocodile. Here is a short review of my experiences.

The ostrich

The ostrich is the world’s largest flightless bird and I must say that it is also one of the tastiest ones. Interestingly enough, ostrich meat is considered a red meat in contrary to others birds like chicken of pheasant. Ostriches are domesticated in some areas and people raise them on huge farms. Its feathers, eggs and meat are processed later.img_0367

I have always wanted to try ostrich meat and one time I was doing my groceries in Lidl, I realised that they actually sell it, although in frozen form, albeit for a decent price. I immediately took on the opportunity, bought it, rushed home, and popped the poor bird in the oven for a couple of minutes.

Ostrich meat lived up to my expectations. It had a unique taste, somewhere between duck and venison. Although it is very easy to overcook it, it has a pretty nice consistency if prepared in the right way. I chose to roast it in the oven but it can also be prepared in a frying pan. The frozen version was already marinated, so there is no need for extra spices.

The kangaroo

Kangaroo was another of my cravings since a while. Kangaroos are among the fastest creatures in the animal kingdom, hence their muscle structure is well developed. This means that their meat contains a very diminutive amount of fat, so it is quite healthy to eat. Although it originates from Australia, it can be also found at the frozen section of the glorious Lidl stores. I decided to fry the meat in a pan over maximum heat. It is really important for the pan to be extremely hot as it creates a crust around the meat which prevents the juices within to escape. I fried up some potatoes also, deciding to eat the kangaroo in the classic steak-style along with some condiments.img_1597

The flavour is almost beefy, but once again there is a hint of venison in it. The consistency of almost the same as a medium cooked beef (here, one can also toy with the rawness of the meat, depending on for how long one is going to cook the kangaroo). I enjoyed finishing my meal, although with a slight regret, because I find kangaroos to be entertaining critters.

The crocodile

Finally, I managed to eat one of the most dangerous and fearsome apex predators on the planet: the terrible crocodile. Although, I must say, only the reputation is terrible. The taste was way beyond expectations.

Crocodiles, while most species are endangered, are also kept on farms for their skin and meat. It is considered a culinary specialty in many countries and people developed several different ways of preparation.img_2345

I spent a night at the Corinthia Hotel Budapest and I had the chance to try Rickshaw, the hotel’s famous far Eastern restaurant. The restaurant offers various Asian dishes, but when I saw that they actually have crocodile meat I immediately decided to try it. My dish was a rendang buaya katak, or crocodile, rendang style. Rendang style is a Malaysian way of preparing meat, it is basically a sauce made from chili, coconut and peanuts. It has a really nice consistency and flavour, being sweet, salty and spicy at the same time.

The meat itself was actually crocodile tenderloin, with a small piece of vertebra in the middle. I was a but hesitating at first because I have never tried reptile meat before so I did not know what to expect. To my surprise, it was incredibly good. The consistency of the meat was like chicken, the flavour was also like chicken, but with a hint (or aftertaste, rather) of fish. They served it with wok fried vegetables which was a nice finishing touch to the whole meal.

These three animals were just the beginning of my culinary adventures, I plan to try out every edible animal on the planet. I hope the readers enjoyed this little piece of review and maybe got inspired to try out new flavours around the globe.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

