Sweet, Sixteen, and Talented as Hell

Interview with Hungarian Fashion Blogger, Emma Istvánffy

Do you remember what were you like at 16? I do. I was lame. And completely lost when it came to my future career. Not like Emma, who wanted to be a fashion designer since she was 10. Good for her, I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up (and I am 21). But this interview is not about me. It is about Emma Istvánffy, my favorite 16-year-old on the Internet right now.

11351208_917227328335903_221047550273112165_n

I’ve been following your blog for years now, so I know a lot about you, but my readers might not. What are the three most important things people should know about Emma Istvánffy?

Hm, first of all, perhaps the most important thing is that I am sixteen years old and I’ve been writing my blog, iEmma Fashion, for more than four years now. I like drawing, painting, and designing and sewing clothes. From an early age, I’ve been interested in fashion, art, and design, and I would like to work in the industry in the future.

How would you describe your personal style?

I’m asked this question a lot, and it’s always difficult to answer since my style changes all the time. These days, I like pairing masculine and feminine pieces, and I’ve been loving the bohemian style, which might not be obvious yet, but as the weather gets warmer, it sure will be! 🙂

What are the essentials that every young woman should have in her wardrobe?

The perfect pair of jeans, a skater skirt, a pair of high heeled ankle boots, a hat, and sunglasses.

 What has been your biggest blog-related success since you launched the site?

My posts that have been published on the Teen Vogue website, and also the fact that I’m among their Top 100 bloggers. In addition, I also love that I get invitations to more and more fashion events, which is a great feeling.

What motivates you to continue blogging?                          

What doesn’t?! 🙂 The thing is that I don’t really need motivation, because I love doing this and I wouldn’t even think about quitting.

11147110_899361630122473_6393027953236247341_n

I loved that post with your sister recently. You started blogging at a fairly young age, has your little sister ever thought about having a fashion blog, too?

She is interested in fashion too, but she is also talented in many other things (she’s kind of a wonder child, haha.) She is not thinking about starting a fashion blog at the moment, but we’ll see what the future holds.

Let’s say I want to start a fashion blog that could manage in the international arena. What advice would you give me?

The most important thing: perseverance! Without patience and diligence, you can’t build up a successful blog. I think it’s important to write about things people are interested in, to have spectacular pictures, and have a layout that is remarkable, yet clear. The use of social media is indispensable, and the more platforms you are present on, the bigger chance you have to attract new readers. Besides Instagram and Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and Lookbook are useful, too.

Who was the first Hungarian designer you got to know? Who is your favorite? Who you think would need more attention?

I had my first encounter with a Hungarian designer around the age of nine or ten, when my mother took me to a Manier showroom. The designer showed us around and that was when I decided that I want to be a designer, too.
My favorite Hungarian designer is Dóri Tomcsányi, hands down. I think she deserves to be known worldwide, I couldn’t think of a more creative person.

emma

During the last Fashion Week Budapest, you attended Dori Tomcsanyi’s show in self-designed clothes. That lace blouse was everything. Can you tell me a little about your inspirations? What’s your creative process like? How long does it take to make a piece from the sketch to the finished result?

I can get inspired by a lot of things. Sometimes when I see a fabric or a pattern, an idea pops in my head. Other times it’s an art piece or nature. It also happens that I have a clear vision of the dress, but it’s more common that I find an interesting topic, start sketching, and after some time I find the direction I want to go into. And there is no stopping then! 🙂

Tell me a little about your future plans.

I’m planning to put more effort into drawing, designing, and sewing. The results will be seen on the blog. 🙂

 

by L. Kovács Kinga

All photos are owned by Emma Istvánffy.

Leave a Reply

